847.864.7100 director@totalchild.org 516 Church Street, Evanston, IL 60201-4515


Total Child is fully licensed by the State of Illinois Department of Children and Family Services and accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). Additionally, Total Child has attained the Gold Circle of Quality from ExceleRate Illinois. Total Child is a not-for-profit, non-sectarian, and non-discriminatory program.

Total Child is proud of our commitment to welcoming all families into our program. Our classes represent the Evanston community through cultural, racial, economic, family structure, and religious diversity.


The mission of Total Child Preschool & Childcare Center, as a ministry of First United Methodist Church of Evanston, shall be to serve the greater community and support families by providing affordable, quality child care in an environment that reflects a commitment to embrace and respect economic, racial, cultural, and religious diversity as a positive value to be nurtured in our children, our community, and the world. The goal of the program is to provide a nurturing, inclusive environment where the staff and Board of the program can work with parents to affirm and encourage children as they develop physically, socially, emotionally, and intellectually.

Our Board of Directors

The Total Child Board is comprised of parent, staff, and church representatives and meets monthly. The Board sets policy, sets and monitors the school budget, plans parent education programs, oversees fundraising, and acts as a liaison between the church and the program.